This is in the bible!

“I also gave them statutes that were not good and ordinances in which they could not live. I was defiling them in their gifts when they made all opening up the womb pass through fire, that I might make them desolate, in order that they may know that I am Yahweh” Ezekiel 20: 25 – 26

Every now and then in the old testament you get a glimpse behind the veil. You see what is really happening.

The Law was sent to make sin increase to bring about judgment.

Here we have a good example of the function of judgment and the actual intention of God in all his doings with man. It is all “In order that they may know that I am Yahweh”. This reason for judgment is reiterated more times than I care to remember.

In a very real sense God is setting up a dialectic. His intention is to express Himself to us, to make himself known to us and He does this by setting up resistance to himself so that through this dialectic between God and the adversary we are shown God’s character.

A brilliant example of this is Pharaoh. “And in very deed for this cause have I raised thee up, for to shew in thee my power; and that my name may be declared throughout all the earth”

In the story of Moses’ dealings with Pharaoh we see that in order for Pharaoh to stand against God enough to fulfil God’s intention in raising him up God had to come in and harden Pharaoh’s heart. On his own Pharaoh could not have stood against God. So we see this declaration of God before Moses has even spoken to Pharaoh:

“But I will harden Pharaoh’s heart that I may multiply My signs and My wonders in the land of Egypt… And the Egyptians shall know that I am the LORD, when I stretch forth mine hand upon Egypt, and bring out the children of Israel from among them.” Exodus 7: 3 – 5

In the verse I began with we see God giving laws that were not good and ordinances the Hebrews could not live in so as to make them desolate! But the intention – the end goal – is so that they may know Yahweh and his mighty power and that He is for them!

Oh and that they would wise up and stop worshipping bits of wood by killing their kids. Stupid Hebrews.

Leave a Reply

