The work that is the body of your faith is REST!

I read in Jeremiah today a verse that really encourages rest.

Often I worry that I’m not doing the will of Father; that I need to be doing something. This worry is often triggered by the downs in the sine wave of my life. I think to myself “This is God telling me I have to do something.”

But Jeremiah’s experience is that he could not resist the will of God! He tried – he really tried – but he just couldn’t resist.

“And I said “I do not mention Him, nor do I speak anymore in His name,” and it hath been as a burning fire shut up in my bones, and i have been weary of containing, and am not able.” jer 20:9

This can be taken in the sense of a test. If you think Father wants you to do something but are unsure… try not to do it! If it’s the will of Father you will be broken if it’s not it will pass!

Isaiah points to a similar experience in the verse:

“And thine ear heareth a word behind thee, Saying, ‘This is the way, go ye in it,’ When ye turn to the right, And when ye turn to the left.” Isaiah 30:21

I am certain that when Father commands us to do something there will be no doubt in our mind concerning Him who speaks.

His power and glory are distinct, separate, holy, unique; every other power and voice is a paltry echo of an echo in comparison to the clarion call that is the power of God!

Also this is living in “the peace of God, that is superior to every frame of mind” Philippians 4:7

It is ignoring our thoughts and feelings and by faith seeing the truth that all things are of God and that God works all things according to the purpose of his will.

All things even you, every thought you have, every feeling you have, and every decision you make and do.

“because of Him, and through Him, and to Him are the all things;” Romans 11:39

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

One thought on “The work that is the body of your faith is REST!

Leave a Reply

