GIVE UP and rest!

“Thus you nullify the word of God by your tradition that you have handed down. And you do many things like that.” Mark 7:13
 
First the Word of God is not the bible! If you think a little about this it will become quite clear!
 
The bible refers to itself as the scriptures or writings.
 
Who is the Word of God?
 
“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” John 1:1
 
“He is dressed in a robe dipped in blood, and his name is the Word of God.” Revelations 19:13

If you believe that the bible is the Word of God you are an idolater! Simples.

 
“Wherefore lay apart all filthiness and superfluity of naughtiness, and receive with meekness the engrafted word, which is able to save your souls.” James 1:21

Do you notice how vague the prohibitions in the new testament are? I mean drunkenness? How much do you have to drink before you can be called drunken? Do you have to be out of control? Puking up? Tipsy? I mean come on!

What does Paul say about drunkenness and fornication?

“Or know ye not that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Be not deceived: neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor abusers of themselves with men,” 1 Corinthians 15:50

Damn! How is anybody going to do that especially considering what Jesus said:

“But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.” Matthew 5:28

Shit! Who is going to be able to do that now? I mean women are so damn beautiful that you can’t not want them!

Hang on a second it looks like God is making it impossible for us to be righteous and inherit the kingdom of God! You God damn right he is! Just look at what else Paul says will not inherit the kingdom of God:

“Now this I say, brethren, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God; neither doth corruption inherit incorruption.” 1 Corinthians 15:50
Damn it! What the hell am I gonna do? I can’t not be flesh and blood! I mean I can kill myself but that doesn’t make me incorruption that makes me worm-food!
Get this into your thick head: you gotta die! You got to get on that cross and give up. Slacken! “Be still (relax) and know that I am God!” Psalm 46:10
Am I saying that if you do this then God will reveal himself to you? No I am not – but you might as well fail without trying than fail through trying!
Why? It’s easier duh!

That is what the law is for! Who was Paul talking to in the majority of these epistles? New churches – churches that were led astray by people teaching law unlawfully.

“I would like to learn just one thing from you: Did you receive the Spirit by the works of the law, or by believing what you heard? 3Are you so foolish? After beginning by means of the Spirit, are you now trying to finish by means of the flesh?” Galatians 3: 2-3
How can you be blind to this? What are the works of the flesh? The works of the flesh are made manifest through trying to keep the law. Once the law has borne fruit unto death (that is made you give up) and brought you to Christ it is no longer useful to you.
Except maybe as a mark against which to check your progress every now and then.
Recognize the places where you fail and bring them before Daddy. Say “Oi Dad you missed a bit!”

“But when Jesus heard this, He said, “It is not those who are healthy who need a physician, but those who are sick. 13“But go and learn what this means: ‘I DESIRE COMPASSION, AND NOT SACRIFICE,’ for I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” ” Matthew 9:13

“”I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves.” Matthew 10:16

The writers of the new testament were being a bit tricksy. They knew that by setting up a target for you to hit that you would fail. They did this quite openly in fact and their intention was to bring you to that wretched state where you say with Paul:

“O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? 25I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord.” Romans 7:24 – 25

“And whatsoever we ask, we receive of him, because we keep his commandments, and do those things that are pleasing in his sight. 23And this is his commandment, That we should believe on the name of his Son Jesus Christ, and love one another, as he gave us commandment. 24And he that keepeth his commandments dwelleth in him, and he in him. And hereby we know that he abideth in us, by the Spirit which he hath given us.” 1 John 3:22-24

Now I am convinced that ultimately when God has finished with us we will all be utterly righteous – as righteous as Jesus was. That is to say we will all be utterly blameless before the law because the law is the mark. Why is it the mark? Because God fulfilled it in Jesus first and He will fulfill it in us; but through NO EFFORT on our part!

“All things are delivered unto me of my Father: and no man knoweth the Son, but the Father; neither knoweth any man the Father, save the Son, and he to whomsoever the Son will reveal him28Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. 30For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:27 – 30

The thing is we do not do this ourselves but God does it in us for his own glory and pleasure!

“For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.” Philippians 2:13

Why does God do it this way? So that no man may boast before him

Leave a Reply

