Mindfulness Meditation – The Car In Neutral

Brilliant rendition of mindfulness. Point 2 is a real stickler for me! I find that I come across the experience of total presence and immediatly I reflect “Wow, I’m doing it!” Which means I’m not doing it. It reminds me of when I learnt to ride a bike without stabilizers. The first time I did it I looked back at my dad and said “Look dad! I’m doing it!” and proceeded to crash into a bush!

The Eastern Horizon

IMG_0918

I am practicing mindfulness meditation for some time now.  I have to say, the single best thing I have done to myself in last several years is to join a mindfulness course. From what I read and practiced, here are a few tips I wanted to share.

1. Mindfulness is like putting your car in neutral. If you find yourself distracted or not mindful, you don’t pressure yourself in beating yourself to be mindful. If mind is like a car, and if getting distracted in thoughts is like getting the car in gear, then trying to beat your mind into being mindful again is like putting the car in reverse gear. You are still giving it momentum, just in opposite direction. That is equally useless.

Instead just be gentle and bring back your mind to mindfulness. That is like putting the car in neutral. Every time you find it is in…

View original post 396 more words

Leave a Reply

